Thermal, Calif. – Desert International Horse Park (DIHP) will award the leading open jumper rider and leading hunter rider from the 2023 Desert Circuit a brand-new Top Jock Double Door Tack Box during Week IX of Desert Circuit.

The Top Jock Double Door Box features a metal exterior with hardwood ply interior, oak exterior wood trim, with a stainless steel top, locks, hinges, handles and screws.

The box can be locked with a key, and the upholstered interior includes two adjustable saddle racks, 15 bridle hooks, three self-closing doors, a phone charging outlet, and additional storage. The doors open 270 degrees with scratch-resistant clear polycarbonate layer to protect the outer surface.

The Leading Hunter Rider award is calculated from points earned in the following divisions during Desert Circuit:

  • 3′ Green Hunter
  • 3’6″ Green Hunter
  • 3’9″ Green Hunter
  • High Performance Conformation Hunter
  • Green Conformation Hunter
  • High Performance Hunter
  • 3’6″ Performance Hunter

The Leading Open Jumper Rider award is calculated from prize money won in the following classes during Desert Circuit:

  • 1.20m Open Jumper
  • 1.30 Open Jumper
  • 1.40 Open Jumper
  • $10,000 1.35m Open Classic
  • $30,000 1.40m Open Classic
  • $30,000 1.45m Open Classic

“We are grateful for the riders and owners who choose to spend their season here with us and this award is a small token of our gratitude and congratulations,” remarked Steve Hankin, President and CEO of DIHP. “It is not a small feat to top an impressive list of both hunter and jumper athletes here this season, and we believe those riders deserve to be celebrated.”

Current Standings (Following Conclusion of Week 6)

Leading Hunter Rider:

  1. Nick Haness: 328
  2. Kaitlin Campbell: 288
  3. Julia Rossow: 287
  4. Joie Gatlin: 265.5
  5. Shelley Campf: 197
  6. Morgan Thomas: 193
  7. Mitch Endicott: 187.5
  8. Nicole Bourgeois: 184
  9. Mark Kinsella: 183
  10. Leslie Steele: 180

Leading Open Jumper Rider:

  1. Kaitlin Campbell: $37,922.50
  2. Elisa Broz: $33.825
  3. Kyle King: $20,176
  4. James Chawke: $20,100
  5. Conor Swail: $17,100
  6. Skylar Wireman: $16,500
  7. Mark Kinsella: $15,835
  8. Michael Williamson: $13,282.50
  9. Nicky Galligan: $11,365
  10. Karrie Rufer: $11,075

Formed in 2012 by Joseph Moran, Top Jock Tack Boxes represents quality and functionality with their completely customizable, luxury tack boxes built specifically for equestrian athletes. Durable, weatherproof and beautifully crafted to each customer’s needs, a Top Jock Tack Box makes a great first impression, is incredibly practical and most importantly protects your valuable equipment. Based in New York, Top Jock Tack Boxes is the only tack box company to offer full exterior high quality images on custom-made tack trunks and lockers.

Additional Circuit Awards and Rider Bonuses

Along with the leading hunter and open jumper rider, DIHP will be awarding two jumper bonuses, the $100,000 National Grand Prix Rider Bonus and the $50,000 Open 1.40m Rider Bonus, at the close of the season.

Circuit champions in every division will be awarded a custom Desert Circuit In2Green sustainable throw blanket and a sustainable tote bag from The Surrey. Reserve circuit champions will receive a laser-engraved barnwood frame.

“The sustainable prizes this season have been well received and it’s great for our brand to promote sustainability,” Hankin remarked. “Sustainability all in all is critical, especially in California. It’s great to do our part in supporting the environment.”

The National Grand Prix Rider Bonus will be awarded following the final National Grand Prix of the season on Saturday, March 18. The $50,000 1.40m Rider Bonus will be awarded following the final $30,000 1.40m Open Classic on Sunday, March 19.

Champions and reserve champions can pick up their prizes from the DIHP Swag Shop Saturday of Week IX. We will also be distributing circuit championship prizes during Week IX at the Amberway Equine Winner’s Circle, alongside Jumper 1, where we will also have photo ops for circuit champions and reserve champions for purchase.